How We Play

Keep up with our latest blogs, news and research here. If you’d like sneak peeks of play projects around the globe or up-to-date ideas and opinions on the power of learning through play, you’ve come to the right place.

May 2022 Opinion
Play isn’t another thing to do. It’s another way to do things
Playful parenting gives a boost to every member of the family – and it doesn’t have to feel like yet another thing on the to do list. Read one parent’s perspective on getting more play in every day
April 2022 Opinion
The power of pretend play
You don’t need fancy toys or tech to learn through play. Children pick up all kinds of skills when they pretend play. Take a look.
March 2022 Opinion
Play more, worry less: 3 ways play boosts resilience
When children play, they can get through all kinds of scary moments – even hospital appointments. Here are three ways children boost their resilience as they play.
A first grade student at the blackboard; Ethiopia.
January 2022 Opinion
Girl Power! Equal education for all starts with getting more girls in school
When more girls have the chance to learn through play everyone benefits. Find out why focus on girls is needed to make education fair for all.
October 2021 Opinion
Breaking the stigma on mental health & how play can help families to thrive
Stigmas around mental health persist, particularly for women and children. Play can boost wellbeing, but systems need to support families and children to have the best start in life
October 2021 Opinion
Closing the skills gap
Education systems need to keep up with the world’s rate of change to close our widening skills gap. Here’s what they can do
October 2021 Opinion
Play prepares children for the future. Any future.
How do we ready children for a world where machines are replacing jobs?
September 2021 Opinion
Playful parenting, hacked!
We asked real families to show us how they make every day playful. Grab their ideas and make them your own!
Children making funny faces
September 2021 Opinion
Five ways to boost your child’s wellbeing through play
Play is a way for children to show the world who they are and how they feel. And you can help them.